At the Gate of Hell, More Fuel For Your Fire?

“Per me si va ne la città dolente, per me si va ne l’etterno dolore, per me si va tra la perduta gente. Giustizia mosse il mio alto fattore: fecemi la divina podestate, la somma sapienza e ‘l primo amore. Dinanzi a me non fuor cose create se non etterne, e io etterno duro. Lasciate ogne speranza, voi ch’entrate”

(Through me you go to the grief wracked city; Through me you go to everlasting pain; Through me you go a pass among lost souls. Justice inspired my exalted Creator: I am a creature of the Holiest Power, of Wisdom in the Highest and of Primal Love. Nothing till I was made was made, only eternal beings. And I endure eternally. Abandon all hope — Ye Who Enter Here)

Dante Alighieri “The Gate of Hell

In the spirit of Halloween, I thought this would be an appropriate entry. Let’s take a trip to a cavern deep in the heart of the Karakum desert. A small village Derweze, Turkmenistan. This is the location of what many of the locals refer to as the “Gate to Hell.” After viewing videos and images of this site, it is easy to understand why.

The crater was created in 1971 when a geologic drilling rig caused an underlying cavern to collapse. Geologists concluded that the cavern was filled with natural gas and that the best course of action would be to burn it off.

40 years later we’re still waiting for the fire to run out of fuel.

Maps:

Leave a Reply

